{Ephesians 6:1-3} “Honor Thy Parents”

“Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right.”

“Honor your father and mother,” which is the first commandment with a promise: “that it may be well with you and you may live long on the earth.” {NKJV)

DSC_0024

{my lovely parents}

How many of us take our parents for granted? Well, I know I do.

Isn’t it strange that our parents (who gave us life) are the ones that usually see our “ugly side” and not our friends?

Something must be wrong if that’s how it usually is. When I have a serious discussion with either of my parents, at times I raise my voice a little higher to make my words clear and to get my point, but even then it can be taken the wrong way, (especially toward the younger siblings who tend to follow our example).

My parents, (who’ve seen my every weakness) are one of the most influential and godly people I know.

During this spring, I was diagnosed with a psychotic disorder. During that time I said things to them that were  disrespectful, and wrong. Since then I’ve been doing much better but yet those memories still remain at the back of my head.

I don’t often realize the effort and sacrifices they make to provide for me and my siblings, so this verse is very special to me, and will always hold a place in my heart when talking about God-given parents.

I do believe that we must honor our parents “in the Lord” because Christ is our ultimate Master and King, and that obedience to the Bible must come first before anyone else. Romans 3:23 says, “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” and nothing but the Word of God can change our hearts and minds for Christ’s sake.

I love my parents very dearly, and wouldn’t be who I am today without their guidance in my life. Since this verse comes with a promise of blessings and long life, I say we treat them as we would like to be treated, with respect and love.

To God be the glory forever and ever. Amen.

~Nela

3 comments on “{Ephesians 6:1-3} “Honor Thy Parents”

  1. Samantha says:

    What a sweet reminder to love and honor our parents!

  2. zimmerman family says:

    in truth this was very well said , The truth shall set you free as you Dad said in his sermon last week

  3. How true are your words… and how often do I need the reminder. Sometimes we take the greatest blessings for granted; how rich we are to have Godly parents guiding and leading us! I know that I fall short so often, and find myself not guarding my heart and mouth, but these Scriptures come to my mind, and I am reminded of the calling to honor and bless them…. how dear they are to my soul!

    *hugs*
    Shannon

Leave a Reply

